Piper Professors

Minnie Stevens Piper Professors

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation is a prestigious statewide award honoring ten professors each academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievement. Honorees are awarded certificates naming them "Piper Professors" together with a cash honoraria of $5000.00 for each professor selected.


Jorge Gardea-Torresdey, Chair and Dudley Professor of Chemistry and Environmental Science & Engineering.
Distinguished Piper Professor of 2012 (Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation).


Lawrence E. Murr, Professor and Chair, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering Department
Distinguished Piper Professor of 2010 (Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation)



Dr.James Becvar, Professor, Chemistry
Distinguished Piper Professor of 2009


Past piper professors

William Doyle Smith, College of Business Administration

Kathleen Staudt, College of Liberal Arts

Nancy Marcus, College of Science

Patricia (Trisha) Ainsa, College of Education

Stephen Stafford, College of Engineering